Dura lex, sed lex. The Parisians are definitely angry with the video refereeing at the Parc des Princes, against Manchester United (1-2). A year and a half ago, Presnel Kimpembe conceded a decisive penalty, with a hand at the very end of the match which precipitated the exit of PSG. This time, the referee Antonio Mateu-Lahoz precipitated the fall of the Parisian with a new rather finicky decision, giving a penalty to withdraw to Bruno Fernandes (22nd).
Abdou Diallo had just cut the race of Anthony Martial, author of a superb ball catch. The VAR could not find fault with saving the Parisian. A minute later, the Manchester United penalty specialist, who had pulled them all off since his arrival, until missing one this weekend against Newcastle, missed his attempt for the second time in three days. After a suspicious goat jump, the Portuguese sent the ball to the left of Navas, who had relaxed superbly and pushed the ball away.
However, the video refereeing reviewed the behavior of the Costa Rican goalkeeper, as allowed by the rules. The VAR protocol provides for sanctioning “offenses by the goalkeeper on penalties.” And crossing his line before the strike is one: “At the time of the shot, the goalkeeper must have at least one foot on his line (or at the same level if the foot does not touch the ground)”. Fifa even clarified the different situations that lead to a new penalty. The advantage is left to the attacker when the goalkeeper is too far ahead at the time of his strike and he scores. If he misses, like the Portuguese, the penalty is however withdrawn.
A picky referee
The still image shows the positioning of Navas’ right foot about ten centimeters in front of his line, while the left is very advanced. Obviously, the moment when the batter’s gesture is stopped influences the position, but the VAR does not allow any margin of error, as recalled for example by the regulations of the Premier League which are also based on the laws of the game : “The 2020-2021 protocol does not allow tolerance levels, so if the goalkeeper saves a penalty and his foot is in front of his goal line, the VAR will advise that it be withdrawn. “
In the past, goalies were supposed to keep both feet on the line until the strike. The rule was very often neither respected nor applied. Since 2019, the goalkeepers can advance one foot but they must imperatively stay in contact with the line with the second. Everything is often played down to the centimeter. Tuesday evening, Antonio Mateu-Lahoz and the video assistance were picky.
However, the video referees could not find fault with the contact between Tuanzebe and Mbappé, at the end of the first period, nor with a rough tackle on Kean (60th), on situations this time left to their free interpretation.
Article original de: www.leparisien.fr